Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX question & Software Questions

cyberstalker292

I'm brand new to LOR, and I was wondering how DMX control works.

I'd like to get some moving RGB head lamps, how do you tell the unit where to point itself in LOR?

Chase sequences would look really cool, I'm just worried the programming will be very hard.

Question #2

Before deciding on LOR, I was looking at the "other guys" and one of them have a feature where you can take a photo of your project and overlay what the lights will look like. Does the LOR program have a feature like this?

Question #3

Is the LOR program extensible? If I wanted to create a plug in to make "macro" sequences in a catalog.... is that possible?

Thanks!

I don't know the answer to your first question.

LOR has a visualizer in which you can take a photo and overlay lights, props, etc...  You can run your sequence and see what it looks like in the visualizer too.

LOR does have macro capabilities.  The channels in the Macro cannot exist in the main sequence.

Jerry

Let's define what a macro is in the world of LOR.

Macro's are 7 channels associated with Cosmic Color Ribbons/Bulbs/Pixels that reduce the amount of programming for certain effects. They are meant to exist with other channels in your display. If you plan to use them, I wouldn't be deleting them from the sequence.

As for "sequences in a catalog" I'm not sure what you are meaning by that.

Chases, as programmed with the Chase tool, are quite simple. 

Thanks Don.

I'm a computer engineer, so I'm sure my terminology doesn't "match up" yet  :lol:

I was meaning by "sequences in a catalog", if I have a tree for instance and have 32 channels running thru it..... if I make 12 channels do something in a span of 2 seconds, could I save that snippet into a "catalog" for future use.