Light-O-Rama Forums

Shopping list for making arches

Klayfish

I'm going to use a few arches in my display this year. This is my first time making one. Never worked much with PVC and other type materials...just started last year when I made a few signs.

Besides the lights, could someone give me a good shopping list of all the materials I'll need to pick up to build one? I'm going to go with the sleeve method. I think there's a "how to" on PC, but for some reason the website doesn't work well on my office computer.

1/2 gray PVC for the "arch". 1 1/4 black irrigation pipe for the sleeves, 100 foot roll about $50.00. The length of the sleeves depend on the length of your light strings. Mine are 16 inch sleeves and the lights are about 20-22 feet. Rebar in the ground at 30 degrees or so and about 6 1/2 feet apart. Hope that helps. Forgot to mention, use an odd number of channels.

Edited by shfr26

1/2 gray PVC for the "arch". 1 1/4 black irrigation pipe for the sleeves, 100 foot roll about $50.00. The length of the sleeves depend on the length of your light strings. Mine are 16 inch sleeves and the lights are about 20-22 feet. Rebar in the ground at 30 degrees or so and about 6 1/2 feet apart. Hope that helps. Forgot to mention, use an odd number of channels.

1+

I would base the lengh of my sleeves on the channels you have dedicated to the Arch. if you losely wrap the arch segments to fit your design they will still look good. Additional ideas is to mirror arches to save on channels. I have 4 sets of Arches on 14 channels  I just designed the first set and mirrored the rest and by doing it that way look like a lot more.

see here

http://www.facebook.com/HolidayHouseSpringfieldIllinois

I have 4 arches.  About 7' long and 3' tall.  They are only 4 channels each.  To the untrained, casual observer's eye they won't know the difference.  Sure saves on the channel count.  1 controller, 4 arches.

Just my 2¢