Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie wants to start with RGB Floods

slbailey617

Hello everyone... I'm not a total newbie... I've been doing my reading and my research but the more I read and the more I research the more I get confused.  This really seems like a "hands on" hobby but if you don't know what you're doing, you could wind up spending a bunch of money on something you really don't need so let me tell you my "step 1" goal and you can point me in the right direction.

I want to start with some rgb flood lights like they use on holidaycoro.  We want to use them to uplight our house and we don't have a source of power on the front of our house.  I liked this idea because I could just run some cat5 from my garage to the floods along the front of the house but if someone has a better idea, I'm open to that as well.  I also have the option of changing the color of the uplighting depending on the season... Maybe pink for valentines, blue for halloween, etc.

Ultimate goal would be to gradually step into a full on light-o-rama light show for Christmas in 2013 (even if it's a single controller).

Sorry if that's not a lot to go on but this is what I've got going on... Welcome some feedback.

Steve

hey steve,

sorry no one has responded to you yet.  i just saw it.  with an open ended list of questions like you have i'm really surprised you haven't gotten 20 different opinions.

1st of all i'm not knocking anything that holidaycoro has (they have some really good products) but what i would suggest is that you look around and check all of you options.

check out www.seasonalentertainmentllc.com they have some really cool plug and play as well as diy options.  look at the extreme floods and look at the wall runners.  the floods on the ground and the wall runners under the gutters.  the color of you house will also determine what will work.   they also have some videos that will give you ideas on what they can do.