Light-O-Rama Forums

An Easy Way To Hook Up Stuff Inside Home?

derekb

Is there any easy way to hook up things, like my Christmas tree to my LOR box so I can have it run with my show? I don't want to waste a whole box just sitting inside, I really don't want to have a window cracked open with an extension cord running from box outside to tree inside, LOR doesn't support the USB X10 controller I use. What are my options? Thanks for any help.

If I understand your question you want to control the lights on the tree from a controller outside that has a few extra channels?

If so then the answer is no.  Although it would be cool to have wireless electricity!

If you don't want to run cable you have to have a dedicated controller.

You can use a 8 channel, they are cheaper.

Scott

Derek,

although I have never tried this product with LOR ( This is my first year ) you could use a wireless extension cord ( SEE: 

or just google wireless extension cord for articles ) from an outside controller to run one channel i.e. your Christmas tree inside your house. Have no idea of the response times, if it could handle fades or anything else, but these would be cheaper than a whole controller to run one channel.

If I understand your question you want to control the lights on the tree from a controller outside that has a few extra channels?

If so then the answer is no.  Although it would be cool to have wireless electricity!

If you don't want to run cable you have to have a dedicated controller.

You can use a 8 channel, they are cheaper.

Yes Scott there is such a thing as wireless electricity, now if I could only plug the sending unit into my neighbors house...oh think of all the money I could save for more controllers!!