Light-O-Rama Forums

I'm a Noob, again! RGB strips and corners

iresq

Taking the plunge for 2013. Starting with window outlines. Probably going dumb here, 5050.

Still How does one do the corners? I'm assuming the stuff can't bend that tight, or can it?

If not, do I just cut and use connectors/solder jumpers?

Photos would be great!

If not, do I just cut and use connectors/solder jumpers?

I have not used strips for anything except under cabinet mounting for inside, but, I've read enough post to say, this is the prefered method.

Now, you could go with CC Pixels or a string of dumb RGB nodes, which resemble the LOR CCPixels.Most have between 4"-6" spacing, thus no problems wiyh the corners.

I will be using myCCPixels on my windows this year. I have a roll of PEX tubing and will drill 200 individual holes, mount the Pixels in each hole and then, mount the entire thing to my window frames. I'll have full control of each pixel of course and the strings will have zero stress on them.

Of course if using the CCPs or dumb nodes, you will not get that continuous light all the way around. It will look more like C7 or C9 bulbs, but with the whole range of colors the pixels or nodes offer.

Just an option you can be thinking about while you're in your decision making process.

Hope this helps,

Ron

You can find strip connectors and L corners, I have tried a few of them and Unless you find some much better than I did I would STAY AWAY from them. poor connections and come loose to easy. I cut and solder with a jumper.

Thanks guys. I have some pixel ideas also but just starting dumb. I have seen jumpers but am not afraid to solder. I guess I'll look at soldering some other type of physical connector as I'm trying to incorporate breakdown and storage into my design.