Light-O-Rama Forums

Ready to Start My Light Show

abruin

As a Christmas present, my wife gave me permission to do a Holiday (and Halloween) light show. Very inspired by the videos posted on LOR.

My background is limited but after reading posts in this Forum, I feel I can do this. I did play the piano for 5 years as a child so I can read some sheet music. I can follow simple instructions on the computer. I have over 200 strings of LED lights (over 12000 lights) and plan to order lots more. I have weekends that I can split between fishing and my light show.

A few questions:

- how hard is it to make those singing faces? Too much for a first time Newbie?

- what do you use to hold those faces in place? Peg boards (not good in the wind)? Chicken wire on PVC pipes? Plastic board? others?

- what do you use to hold the lights in place? Zip ties?

- is the LOR Sequencing software programmed for these faces to sing (calibrated to vioce)?

- for these faces, is a rope light easier then strings of LED?

- how many controllers is a good starting point? 2? 3? 4? more?

Would I be better off purchasing something from someone (wowlights) or make my own?

I live in Irvine (da OC) California.

Thanks - Greg

well ... let's see..., as last year was my first year with LOR. I too am going to make the singing faces this year. After much study on what to use, i think i'am going to use .25" wire, made into 5'x5' grid like this: |___|___| , but with a solid line at the top too.

|___|___|

|___|___|

|___|___|

This will give me the basic framework to then weld my faces, onto the grid. then i think i'll use amber l.e.d. ropelight zip-tied with clear ties to the "face". and yes the

faces will be programed to the vocals, heck i've even began watching myself in the mirror singing to see whan my mouth does what, when heh..heh. sounds like