Light-O-Rama Forums

2012 My First Christmas Display Please Comment

RickAbel43

This is my first year with 16 channel Light o Rama and i had roughly 12000 LED Lights plus about 1800 Incandent lights...Please let me know how i did even if it is bad...Thankyou Rick

Well i'm new too and have never done a display (yet). In my opinion, you have a great setup with a lot of elements to choose from. It's hard to believe that's only 16 channels. I'm guessing you're sharing several elements on channels. For my personal taste though, there's too much going on - too many elements switching and too many on at once. Pick and choose fewer elements (if possible with only 16 channels) to work with at a given time (except during a highlight or finale maybe). Perhaps a little more fading so it's not quite so jarring to switch between colors or elements if you need to switch a lot at the same time (because you're sharing channels). Really great start however!

Yeah, it's a bit too fast / flashy...but you know what I'd rather see your display than someone that puchased all the best stuff, paid for all their sequences and then said: hey check my display on my mansion. There's absolutely non of their heart or soul in it!

That's what this hobby is all about! You don't need to pay for all the best and biggest right from the starting line! It's getting out there starting small and building from what you learn over the years!! I started last year with 16ch. I wanted to do this when I 1st saw the video's, but had a small house in the city( was afraid my stuff would be stolen). Bought a new house 5 years ago but still couldn't spend the extra cash on a light show....

Great job, Keep the dream alive!

I would have suggested you light up the house static and program a 16 channel mega tree then add to that over the years. It's a hobby so no matter what have fun