Light-O-Rama Forums

I'm confused

David Spangler

The question'"Where do I start" has probably been asked many times and here it is again. I finally have the time to do this, being retired, so do I jump in with both feet or go slow. I'm completely new to LOR.

1. Are the programming classes worth the money?

2. Do I buy 15 amp or 30 amp controller?

3. Home controller or Pro controller?

4. LED or RGB? (RGB seems expensive)

There are many more questions, but most will be answered with time, I just need a little direction to get started for next year.

Thank you

The question'"Where do I start" has probably been asked many times and here it is again. I finally have the time to do this, being retired, so do I jump in with both feet or go slow. I'm completely new to LOR.

1. Are the programming classes worth the money?

2. Do I buy 15 amp or 30 amp controller?

3. Home controller or Pro controller?

4. LED or RGB? (RGB seems expensive)

There are many more questions, but most will be answered with time, I just need a little direction to get started for next year.

Thank you

1.The classes are probally worth the money.I started out 3 years ago with 192 channels and no classes.Lots of people here to help you.I have helped a couple people learn to sequence over the phone.

2.I have all 15 amp controllers and i also only have 60 amp electrical service at my house.

3.I am 99 % led because of my electrical service.

Starting this early for next year is perfect.

Edited by wallleyes

Go slow.

Determine what your budget will be then multiply it by 2 or 3.

1. I didn't do the classes but the videos were extremely helpful.

2. Personal preference. I would tend to err on the side of caution so would go with the 30 amp. A lot of it will depend upon what lights you will be using. Get a Kill-A-Watt meter. They are your friend.

3. Personal preference again. The residential is cheaper though the professional has a couple more bells and whistles and a better box.