Light-O-Rama Forums

Complete newbie trying to understand the basics

Donl1150

I am a complete newbie to this area although I do currently have a 5 year old stand-alone controller box with built in music that has room for 6 channels. It is not at all programmable. Got it from one of the big box stores for about $40. Since I have some degree of home automation inside the house using Home Seer and X-10 technology, I thought I would try to learn about expanding my horizons for future outside Christmas lights. It seems there is a vast new world out here using LOR technology.

I must admit though, even after perusing the web site and the forums, I am still somewhat confused by how it works and what is really needed to get started. If I understand things correctly, to control things wirelessly from my laptop, at a minimum I would need:

Inside the house:

1. Showtime Software Suite S3 for the laptop
  2. An output serial cable to a Converter
  3. A LAN cable from the Converter to an Easy Light Linker

Outside the house:

1. An Easy Light Linker and LAN cable connected to
  2. A Controller such as the ShowTime PC Residential Light Controller.
  3. Up to 16 potential different zones of lights and finally
  4. At least one 30 amp electrical outlet.

Sorry if this seems elementary but I want to make sure I understand before I jump in. Then one quick question….I think this has the ability to fade lights from one color to another? Are there special lights needed for this? Thanks

Don

Hi Don,

Welcome!

You're on the right track. As far as lights go, you can use incandescents or LEDs and almost anything in between. Color-changing lights are a different thing. If you're talking about RGB pixels or strips, Yes the LOR softweare can control those.

If you ever get to Clearwater, I can give you a behind the scenes look.