Light-O-Rama Forums

Noobie, just looking for some advice 2013

dan24438

I've never done anything like this before and just looking for some advice and direction. After doing my research i've decided to go with the light o rama controllers (hence i'm on this forum).

I have yet to purchase anything (besides the lights i already have) but this is what i'm looking at so far.

PRO Series 16 Channel Starter Package

PRO Series Addon LOR1602Wg3

Whole House FM Transmitter

I've done alittle reading and it seems like the cost difference between the PRO Series and the residential is well worth the money. On top of that id like to beable to purchase something that is going to last me awhile. I am also going to upgrade the software lic to advanced so in the future i don't have to worry about this either. Always taught if your going to do something do it right the first time.

So first question

1. As a beginer i do not want to get so over whelemed i don't enjoy setting up the display, and learning how to sequence songs. So keeping this in mind is 32 channels a good starting point?

2. I've seen a couple of people saying LOR has times when they put equipment on sale/clearance. Any ideas when this would be?

3. The lights i do have i bought at wal-mart, and i've read its just better to purchase the higher quality lights to start off with so i'm not replacing them the following year. Where is a good place to purchase a high volume of LED lights?

4. I've just started doing research on the RBG LED Lights, as i'm just setting up a display is it worth it to just build it around this style of light?

Any suggestions, or comments are always welcome.

1. 32 is a good starting point in my opinion.

2. 2 sales a year , the "secret sale", that lasts about 15 minutes and the summer sale.

3 and 4, don't know

I just wonder why you want to get the Pro series controllers, the PC series work just fine, I've had mine for 4 years now.