Light-O-Rama Forums

SuperStar text tool stopped working

pdowns

I'm new to SuperStar editing. I took the text basic and advanced tutorial and was successfully creating and scrolling text. And then it stopped working. That is, when I click on the ABC button and get the text dialogue box, I can enter text. But when I hit play the text is not displayed.

Is there some button I've unknowingly clicked (sort of like when you sit on your TV remote?)

Not sure what could happen that would make the text stop working. If the start and end coordinates of the text action are "off screen" then the text will never travel through the ribbons. But if you click on any of the 9 movement buttons the program should figure out star and end coordinates that make the text travel through the ribbons.

One thing you can always try is to shut the program down and launch it again, and it should put you back in a default state.

I tried restarting the editor. I even booted the machine. The start and end coordinates seem fine. It's only a 30 second sequence. Is the default state saved in the registry? I've had a similar "disapperance" with the behavior of the instant sequence feature. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit with fairly current patches. I can't assault my show machine until January. Thanks for your quick response!

Nothing is saved to the registry. Everything that is saved is put into SSEdit.cfg or the .sup file that you open.

Please email the .sup file to brian@superstarlights.com and I will take a look at it. The .sup file will be at:

c:\ <your lightorama folder> \ SuperStar \ Sequences

Not sure what I did wrong, nor exactly what I did to fix my problem, but I'm back in business. Somehow the box that normally contains "Text action #" was blanked out. No need to send you anything.

Glad you got it working. I don't think you did anything "wrong." It was more likely a bug in the program, wish I could have narrowed down the cause. If the problem returns let me know.

• 3 months later...