Light-O-Rama Forums

Hello (Introduction) & Question/Help

Tindivall

Hello from Fort Worth, Texas where it is Dec 3rd and 80 degrees outside :P I am a newbie in every aspect of the word when it comes to lighting displays... This is my first year in a home of my own and first year decorating for Halloween / Christmas. While I had always known about lighting displays such as the ones Light O Rama allows you to do, I was not aware how it was done until a week or so ago. While I realize I am a little late to the game for this year I am planning getting my feet wet in 2013. My only snag is that my wife is not into the whole Griswald lighting experience like I am, so therefore I am limited at this time to going all out just for Halloween.

That all being said, I have some questions and wanted to see if someone could point me in the right direction.

I am looking for more feedback / suggestions from the experienced more than anything:

Talking Faces:

1) Construction: I have seen several different videos / ways of doing this, pegboard, pvc with chicken wire, purchasing from wowlights.com, purchasing the just the wire frame (wireframedlites.com) and running lights myself. The wowlights seems a bit overpriced at $650, the wiredframe are nice at $90 but that could be because they are smaller (47" x 40").... Thoughts? Ideas? Suggestions? I am leaning away from the pegboard because I don't like the idea/thought of having a huge pegboard blocking a window during the day.

2) Lighting: Rope Light vs RGB Basic Strip. I like the idea of the Stip lighting because can cut to whatever size needed without having to electrical tape off areas not want shown. Also like the idea of being able to change colors using the RGB strip. However my concern is the bending of the strip to make the face, where as rope light can obviously bend no problem.

Roofline:

For cost purpose I would imagin I will start with standard LED lights, eventually one day rolling into the Cosmic Color Ribbon (CCR).