Light-O-Rama Forums

Help With Big Show Planned For Use In 1 Or 2 Years

dollarchip7

Hi,

I am new to LOR hardware but not software. My main priority is to make a Bible wide Bible walk through (old testament and New testament) But to do this I need a large LOR network and I will keep posting new comments on here when I have more questions about my setup. But my first question is can I use a Network switcher like this one: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=105&cp_id=10521&cs_id=1052104&p_id=8747&seq=1&format=2#description and run my LOR network through it? Like so: Computer>USB>USB-CAT5 converter>CAT6 cable>Network Switcher>LOR controllers places all over a 3 acre lot. Is that setup possible?

Thanks.

P.S. The only thing that is a fact is that I'm doing this on a 4 acre lot (2 acres by 2 acres) With a house setup and the Bible walk-through.

Hi,

I am new to LOR hardware but not software. My main priority is to make a Bible wide Bible walk through (old testament and New testament) But to do this I need a large LOR network and I will keep posting new comments on here when I have more questions about my setup. But my first question is can I use a Network switcher like this one: http://www.monoprice...t=2#description and run my LOR network through it? Like so: Computer>USB>USB-CAT5 converter>CAT6 cable>Network Switcher>LOR controllers places all over a 3 acre lot. Is that setup possible?

Thanks.

P.S. The only thing that is a fact is that I'm doing this on a 4 acre lot (2 acres by 2 acres) With a house setup and the Bible walk-through.

Simple answer is no. That is an ethernet switch and you can't run LOR controllers off it, well at least not the CTB16PC controllers or any of the ~AC~ controllers. LOR Controllers are daisy chained via Cat5, the ports on these controllers ARE NOT ethernet compatibale and connection to an ethernet router may in turn destroy your controllers, the network hub, your PC and no telling what else it's connected too.