Light-O-Rama Forums

Lor Hardware Question

Coppell

Hello, i am new to LOR as this will be my first year using it. I always like to be on the safe side, as i will be have surge protection on all 3 of my light o ramas, but was wondering if a channel overloaded and went over 8 amps (if it shorted) what would be the problem. Would one of the 2 fuses blow, would the GFCI trip and leave the LOR unharmed? Would the Triac for that channel fry? Or would my light o rama board be done for. Thanks as i really appreciate knowing, incase i need to purchase some GFCI's or have a box of quik acting ceramic fuses laying around. Or if i need to hotglue all my connections to lights. Thanks for the help, like i said im new, and i dont want to ruin a ligh o Rama.

-Brian

It all really depends on the problem that occurs. As any of what you mentioned can happen. I would think the most likely would be a GFCI trip providing you're using one, then a blown fuse. If a triac or an entire board fries, that could be due to a number of problems, until any of this happens, all you can do is use GFCI's, keep plenty of spare 15A Fast Acting Ceramic Fuses on hand and hope nothing gets past those two items.

They would be the primary two {my opinion} that would keep your controller safe from harm.

But like said, there are other factors and there is no way to really know what may cause a triac to go bad or a component on the board itself, just try and do the best you can and use common sense when plugging in mutltiple items on a single channel or extension cords together to reach that item in yoru display.

Other than that, not much else I or anyone else may be able to tell you.

God Luck and Welcome to the Hobby.

Guest wbottomley
based on what i recall of the triac specs,,theres a littl headroom.

You're exactly right Gary. On the older version controllers, 16 amps would be the limit for a triac. With the Gen 3 units, it's 25 amps.

That was it...thanks.