Light-O-Rama Forums

Ground loop

columbus27

I am get a hum out of my transmitter. When I use to work on DC audio we use to make sure the audio cable is perpendicular to power, and find a new ground. I have little experience with AC. I know that ground loop isolator could be used, but I have never used one. Does anyone have any suggestion?

Depending on the power supply, try turning it around in the outlet.

Most of the ground loop isolators are pretty much the same. Just try one.

Different power supplies will be cleaner than others.

How far should I get it from the computer? I was even thinking of running a completely separate ground to this outlet.

How far should I get it from the computer? I was even thinking of running a completely separate ground to this outlet.

As far as you can, maybe even on a different circuit than the computer.

There are many factors that can cause a hum, AC ground, Audio ground, and EMF. These are just some of them. Many years ago I took lots of classes about this. It helps to know the different ways they can acurr and that will help to solve them.

Here is some good info.

http://www.jensen-transformers.com/an/generic%20seminar.pdf

Enjoy

• Like 1

You could try this "Wall Wart Tamer" which is specifically designed to eliminate the buzz from noisy wall warts:

http://n7xgshop.net/shop/product.php?id_product=19

For me, I added a choke to my audio wire (between the transmitter and computer) and make sure it's not too close to any other devices like the computer. At the start of the season I crank up an FM radio with no signal on the transmitter (but it broadcasting) and position everything in such a way to eliminate any buzz.

I fixed 90%. I used the same 20 amp outlet but I used two different surge protectors. Then I upgraded the audio cable, and finally I move the audio cable from the back of the computer to the front.