Light-O-Rama Forums

Don't know what I don't know

T17443

This is my first year in putting together an automated system, but I never start small. I am planning on an 80 channel show with a mega-tree and all other elements are designed with a four color step (red, green, blue, and white). Total lights currently are sitting at 30,000 with half being LED and half being mini lights. I am en electrical engineer by trade so feel pretty comfortable on the power supply side and have all 80 channels planned from the breaker to the controller including total amp load, wire sizes, etc. My son and I have 12 songs programmed for our display so far, FM transmitter seems to be working well and we are now a few weeks out from starting the actual install. These forums and all of you have been absolutely incredible. So far every question I have had has been answered by reviewing old postings and you have saved me a lot of time and money. However, now that it is crunch time I am getting worried. What are some of the big "gotchas" that I am missing that will doom our show before the first light goes on?

Have spare fuses for your controllers, though if you do things right you shouldn't need them, but a blown fuse is a sure show stopper since there is no workaround. Spares are cheap and wise to have on hand.

Surfer gave you a excellent suggestion with the spare fuses. I will add that someone else said that they taped one spare in each controller box cover. Critters like to chew through wires. So have some butt splices on hand and maybe a long spare Cat 5 wires if you buy them or the makings for another on hand if you roll your own. I have had my display up for 3 yrs now and last year one chewed through one of my SPT2 wires knocking out one of my elements a lit candy cane.

edited the grammar, sounded like Yoda.

Edited by Max-Paul