Light-O-Rama Forums

How do you know what your animation will look like

Guest guest

Just thought I'd ask... This is my first year doing any sort of animation. I have already started building musical sequences and was wondering how I can check what I have worked on and what it will look like. I know there is the animation wizard, that is a great tool but I can't really visualize what the display will look like when completed. I am going to set up some stuff this summer(outside) to get a better idea. I can't really drag everything out because of two young children and limited space to test. How does everyone test or check their sequence before the season?

greg

You have to visualize a lot in your head but I think it is very important to have a few strings of lights hooked up to a controller so you can see the effect of what fades look like since they look a lot different than they do on the visualizer.

I set up a few things in my computer room so I could get a feel (plus it warmed up the room!)

room2.jpg

I've had to build a mini display to double check the work I've done. I have found things that look very bad and lost hours of work because it looks so different with lights on. I hear many people do a small set-up and that helps. I have a handycapp because I am running 193 channels on one display. Even in my mini display I'm pulling 50amps and I take one corner of a wearhouse.

Thanks for the reinforcement. Like I said I am unable to check things inside the house. I am planning on putting up the megatree in the backyard this summer. A warehouse that would be great. There is a place where we store our rv for the winter since everyone removes it for the summer and it is empty perhaps I can rent that for a few weeks to do some testing.

A few weeks should be good. Each song is 1:00m to 3:30m long so it won't take long to see what you have. I work a few weeks on each song then I spend a Saturday connected to the display.