Light-O-Rama Forums

Total Newbie Here

bblumka

This will be my first year at the flashy blinky thing. I currently have 5 controllers and I'm thinking I will need one maybe two more for everything I have planned. Here's the question: Would having all my controllers linked up/hooked up and in my sequencer so I can point the visualizer to the correct controller/channel before I start making my visualizer? Thinking that having all of them would make it easier when it comes down to programming the visualizer. Also, I have about another month of construction on my displays. (It will be Christmas only this first year) Am I ok as far as time goes to program the visualizer AND sequence the songs? Looking at the end of August beginning of September before I start working on that stuff.

Thanks

In my opinion the first thing you should do is layout your channels for this year. Before you start on the Visualizer, or sequencing, I feel it is best to have everything mapped out. Starting with 80 channels seems overwhelming to some, but the key here is to make sure you have everything defined and ready to go. In the process of doing this, you will also want to make sure you electrical calculations are correct. With more and more LED's in displays it isn't as big of a deal as it used to be. Still, nothing worse than blowing a fuse and as a result having to reprogram everything because your over the amp limit on a controller.

Once you have your channel layout defined, then you want to put it into the Sequence Editor. Add your 5 controllers and label the channels.

After the Sequence Editor is defined with the channels, then start building your Visualization.