Light-O-Rama Forums

Christmas Light Yard Decor

kevinshuffield

Hello guys I am completely new to all of this. I was wondering what you guys make the decorations out of like it looks like re-bar but it's not so please help me. Thanks!

Guest Don Gillespie

Hello guys I am completely new to all of this. I was wondering what you guys make the decorations out of like it looks like re-bar but it's not so please help me. Thanks!

Welcome, it all depends on what you are building, for mini trees most use tomato cages, for any other items use what you can let your mind and hands take you to places you have never been before, coro plastic, aluminum, wood, wire frames the list is long.

Its about being able to build something out of your imagination to make it look as you want it too. Ive seen on this baord members using rebar, bar stock steel and aluminum, PVC, Coroplast Sheets, heavy wire, paper machet, foam, plastic, and nearly anything else you can think of. I cant think of anything that I havent seen, from salad bowls to radio towers are used in this hobby.

Tomatoe cages are popular for the trees and Don stated. There are how to's on here from members you see all the time here how to build them. You will find arches mostly out of PVC, and again how to's are here to watch and learn. PVC is cheap for many props and Ive made all of mine from it. All of my decorations take less than 30 mins to remove and store for the year becuase it is all hung on PVC. I have the disadvantage of no yard so I cant make the displays like William, Don, Jeff, TJ, and the list goes on forever.

I reccomend you spend the first few days here just looking at the displays in the daytime or good night shots with all on. Most of the members have them and with that you will start to see patterns. It always good to come up with new ways of doing things. The best part about DIY is if it works for you then it might work for many. Spend some time in the DIY and show off forums theres plenty to learn.