Light-O-Rama Forums

C9 Rubber O-Ring - Overkill or necessity?

imacericg

I am continuing to work on my C9 roof project. Got the LED C9 lights in today (thanks MITS).

Does everyone use O-rings to protect their bulbs? Or are they for suckers?

Its going to cost me around $140 for them.:shock:

Attached files 320374=17479-white-o-ring.jpg

If the lights will ever point down, then using rings will be a big problem, because water will seep in through the holes for the cord, and won't be able to drain past the light.

I think you'd be better off using NoAlOx.

I usually keep my mouth shut, and I'm no electrician....

That NoALOx looks like it is CONDUCTIVE. It's going to work great where the 2 conductors are the same polarity, but if you squirt that stuff into a socket you are going to create a short between the hot and neutral.

At least, I think that's what will happen. I would think you want a dielectric grease

• Like 1

Steven wrote:

If the lights will ever point down, then using rings will be a big problem, because water will seep in through the holes for the cord, and won't be able to drain past the light.

I think you'd be better off using NoAlOx.

Thats good to know, all of my lights point up, so I think I am safe.

Is it worth $140 to protect my investment? Or is it overkill?

I'm going for a waste of time. C9 bulbs have been around for decades and worked fine as designed. So why fix something that is not broke?

Mike,

Hate to tell you, but dont quit your day time job. NoAlOx or I known it as NoOx is a none conductive grease. What happens is that the grease is forced out of the way of the two contacting conductors. Yet is forms a seal around the junction of the two contacting surfaces. Thus keeping out both air and moisture.