Light-O-Rama Forums

Need suggestions

mattpatt

Now that I'm the proud owner of 32 channels of LOR greatness I was wondering what would you guys do for your first Christmas display? I'm strictly LED as I bought up a bunch during the after Christmas sales mostly cool white. I'm thinking about 8 mini trees but other than that I don't have a clue. I would love to have a guitar playingsinging snowman or something like that. Maybe a small mega tree? Looking for some inspiration on what you guys did for your first display. I want to keep it simple for right now.

Thanks,
Matt

In December the year before my first show, I went shopping at the "After Christmas" sales, mostly at arts & craft and drug stores. My wonderful find that I've been using for 5 years is a batch of white candlesticks with C-7 sockets.

They came in strings of 10, spaced about 18" apart, but I use them as 4-channel chasing lights. This meant I had to cut and splice every one, to add sections of SPT-1 cord.

Now I have 60 candlesticks that line my walk and the front sidewalk. I also use them at Halloween. Last year, I started using a "candle flicker" sequence, so they look like real flames. I have been gradually replacing the bulbs with retrofit LED bulbs, evenly spaced, which gives a nice variety.

I started with 32 channels myself, all those years ago...
Here's how I ended up distributing the channels:
1C01-03: 3 channel Bethlehem Star on roof
1C04-05: 2 different sets of lights on eve of house, red and white
1C06: FM sign
1C07-08: left and right bushes
1C09-16: 8 North Poles
2C01-12: 12-channel single color (red) mega tree slices
2C13-15: 3-channel star on top of mega tree
2C16: ornaments in mega tree

I've grown into 7 controllers and 4 CCRs to date, but I still use controller 1 to cover the big real estate of trimming out the house (my tree now uses 3 controllers).