Light-O-Rama Forums

Mounting String Lights

Crazydave

This is my first year and I have NO lights at all on my house.

I have 2 questions. I will be mounting lights on the Eve of my roof:

1.) what type of mounting system for String Lighting

2.) what type of mounting system for Flexible RGB strip

I was wondering what type of mounting system people are using to mount string lights to the eves.

My eaves are 1.5" inches thick.

So these style clips don't work

6341.jpg

I was thinking about getting these from CDI:

Does anyone have any experience with these or comments?

http://store.christmasdesigners.com/Quik-Klip-Bag-of-500.html

6486.jpg

any comments or better ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

-dave

Crazydave wrote:

6486.jpg

Actually these are not from CDI (at least not the CDI that is commonly referred to here)...

we know CDI as Creative Display Inc., found here:

http://www.creativedisplays.com/

but I have never seen those before...Think I will get me some!!

I have used these on my house for about the last 10 years or so and they worked great when I was only hanging a single string of icicles across the roofline during my static days. However, since jumping into the LOR arena for the last 2 years and now running multiple strings of lights on the house I find it hard to get wires from each light string inside of the clip to hold them up. It has worked so far but I am looking at finding a quicker way of getting the lights up to cut down on set-up time. Some of the clips became brittle and have broke over the years since they have been subjected to the weather for a number of years.

Crazydave wrote:

This is my first year and I have NO lights at all on my house.

I have 2 questions. I will be mounting lights on the Eve of my roof:

1.) what type of mounting system for String Lighting

2.) what type of mounting system for Flexible RGB strip