Light-O-Rama Forums

Visualizer, not the place to start?

eurbani

I'm a newbie. I've searched the forums and the help file and I think that you cannot export your channels from the visualizer. Am I correct?

If so, I feel like I'm missing something. I wanted to set up my display on the visualizer. Sort out what I was going to do and then export those channels so that I could use them i the Sequencer.

So, if I am right. What are some good methods to plan/organize your display and channels?

Since you can do all sorts of rearranging and organizing in the sequencer to make sequencing easy, I have focused my energy this year in keeping lights that are in the same basic vicinity in my display together on the same controller. I've got a large yard, so this means a lot less extension cord.

Last year, I didn't realize how easy it was to reorganize the channels in the sequencer for easier sequencing, so I ended up with some crazy long extension cords. I'm tripling my channel count this year, so I'm trying to keep controllers close to the stuff they control and trying to keep lights that are close together on the same controller.

You can but it takes work. The way I did it was built the setup in Visulaizer, then used SuperStar to import the Vis file. From there you can export to Sequencer. This is also based on having a SuperStar license.

I like to make my channel layout in Excel spreadsheet to get a good idea of what I want to do. Then build my channel layout, then the Visualizer. Here is a great channel load calculator / plan another member created.
http://forums.lightorama.com/view_topic.php?id=31269&forum_id=76&highlight=spreadsheet post 6
I found this helpful.

Correct, there is no way to export a channel config from the Visualizer to the Sequence Editor. I'll add that to the wishlist.