Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie here

Guest guest

I want to build a 32 channel setup for my first year (2007) but am a little confused on what to buy. I am trying to way out the pros and cons of premade kits opposed to building the boards myself. I am completly capable of doing the board so this isn't a concern. So if I decide to assemble the boards which ones should I go with? I would like to play music over a couple of speakers in my yard and not bother with a FM transmitter at this time, do I play the music off my PC? Thanks in advance!

i1uhrace wrote:

I want to build a 32 channel setup for my first year (2007) but am a little confused on what to buy. I am trying to way out the pros and cons of premade kits opposed to building the boards myself. I am completly capable of doing the board so this isn't a concern. So if I decide to assemble the boards which ones should I go with? I would like to play music over a couple of speakers in my yard and not bother with a FM transmitter at this time, do I play the music off my PC? Thanks in advance!

A Showtime unit is the quickest way to go. Buy it, and the software, and your done.

Hobbyist requires you to mount the controller in an enclosure, and attach power cords.

DIY requires you to build the controller from scratch. If have the knowhow, then this is the cheapest route.

The music, regardless of how you broadcast it to people, will come from your computer. (Or, if you use the MP3 Director, from it.)

Don pretty much covered it.

Also, if you don't have a serial port (some laptops don't now days) then you'll want the LOR USB convertor. I recomend LOR only on this. I learned the hard way.

And just read every topic under the LOR forum. If you read it all, you won't have many questions afterward.

Oh, "DO NOT FORGET TO BACK UP YOUR WORK!!!"

Hope that helps,

Tom