Light-O-Rama Forums

Used LOR 1602W Cpntroller with DC-MP3

Lightson

I am a newbie to LOR, I acquired a used 1602w 16 channel controller with the MP3 director installed. I was told the controller was three years old, but only used for one season. The software disk that the seller included is a version 1.6.9 that he thought could be upgraded for free. That didn't seem to work for me so trying to find out if I need to just procure the new software? Also, since this controller is approximately three years old, do I need to upgrade the firmware for the controller and also for the MP3 director? Will this unit still be compatible if I get another 16 channel controller? Thanks for any info?

All Light-O-Rama controllers are compatible with each other, so you don't need to worry about that.

While you don't *need* to update the firmware, it might be helpful to do so. Some of the early versions of firmware do not support all of the lighting effects in the newer versions of software.

The MP3 Director, in my opinion, should be updated to the most recent firmware version available. There have been many improvements made to the director firmware.

I think the LOR1 -> LOR2 free upgrade was for original license holders. Not sure if that upgrade offer is/was transferable (but I don't think it would be.) I would probably go ahead and purchase the software. (Though, worth noting the demo version of the software will do everything except control the lights, so if you wanted/needed to wait a bit to buy the software, you could at least be learning the software.)