Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie Diving Head First In... but I have electrical questions

Christo25

I've been reading the forum for about a month now and decided to finally pull the trigger on making my first LOR Display for the 2012 holiday. I have read all kinds of good information on the forum and decided I'm going to "start" with a 10' mega tree w/ 32 channels and two 10' arches for the upcoming season.

It may not sound like a lot, but this is my first attempt at making all of this work. Some basic electrical questions I have that I have yet to see answered while reading the various threads ---

1. Are all of you running your 64-128 channel shows on your basic electric that your house was wired with or are you running generators in conjunction with your set up? What about dedicated circuits for 1/2 controllers each?

2. The only reason I can see to use bulk SPT1/SPT2 wire is being able to make custom length cords... but I think this is only going to be problematic in the future as I move things around for upcoming seasons. Any reason people don't just use normal outdoor extension cords sold in stores? I'm not really looking forward to cutting 64 cords and having yet another potential problem with something like wiring.

I am completely excited to get started in this process. I am 15 seconds into my sequence song and two hours of work. I'm beginning to actually hate the song... hahaha

I look forward to learning much more and sharing with each of you.

-- Chris

If you go with LEDs, you can skip the generator (not typical), or added sub-panel (somewhat typical). Incans require a lot more load planning.

There is a ton of discussion surrounding your basic questions in the forum..read the newbies section, and do some searches. The LOR documentation section, and the forum, give you days worth of reading. More reading raises more questions, and the forum is a great place to ask questions (other than "can someone do this for me, i'm too busy to read?..").