Light-O-Rama Forums

Building sidewalk arches

welder_man12

Hello everybody, Im new to all of this and very excited to get started. I want to build archways over our sidewalk leading up to the house. I want them to be 7' tall in the center of the arch and 4' wide if my math is right i would need something 18' 3" long to bend over the side walk. any suggestions on what i should use. I was going to you round bar as I am a welder by trade. There has to be something easier.

Generally people use PVC pipe. Stick a piece of rebar into the ground at each end and slip the PVC over the rebar to hold it in place. A lot of people use sleeves of larger PVC over the full length. These sleeves are as short as a foot and generally not more than 3 feet long. Wrap light strings around the sleeves. That makes it easier to make repairs or changes to the arch. Lots of threads here on the forums on arch building.

Welder...

Most of the threads here are for leaping arches, and they pretty much all use PVC. You should check them out, but I'm not sure it will all translate 100% to what you'd like to do, as you're trying to put arches over the sidewalk.

Another suggestion is to take a look at a few of the threads on driveway arches. Those might be more similar, just on a larger scale than your sidewalk arches. I pasted a couple below.

http://forums.lightorama.com/forum81/26971.html

http://forums.lightorama.com/forum80/20591.html