Light-O-Rama Forums

Website

MikeA

I would like to know what people use to create their website. I have no experience with this but would love to make one of my own.

Any direction you can give would be great.

I started out years ago using a program called HotDog and then moved up to DreamWeaver.
There are quite a few free programs out there as well like CoffeeCup and others that will let you do a site pretty easy.

There are also web hosting outfits that will rent you the web space for your site and soemof them have software right on the site to buld web pages.

You can even build web pages in Microsoft Word nowdays!

MikeA wrote:

I would like to know what people use to create their website. I have no experience with this but would love to make one of my own.

Any direction you can give would be great.

I have be extremely pleased with excellent inexpensive webhosting through StableHost. They include a free easy-to-use website building software. I had a simple site up and running within a few minutes. They are very reliable. Customer support is very good. It appears that they support all the higher end website design stuff too, but that is beyond my needs. They appear to be having a sale going on now that ends in 35hrs.

I researched them quite a bit beforehand since I don't like having to change hosts after getting it all set up.
151 reviews here, 146 of which gave it 5 stars (the other 5 gave them 4 stars).
http://ratepoint.com/profile/13168/stablehost-com-phoenix-az-reviews

Even though I have not released my website to the general public to view (still under construction, have not had time to work on it), I built it using a Content Management System called Drupal to run my website. There are other free CMS systems out there, like Joomla and WordPress, but I develop websites for a living and use Drupal on a daily basis, so I'm experienced with it.