Light-O-Rama Forums

I'm a newbie... What should I buy??

nucmed24

Hello -

I've thoroughly enjoyed reading the forums and watching all the different display videos. There are definitely many creative folks on this forum! After all the reading, however, it seems like I have more questions! :P

I want to start out by purchasing items now to start this hobby for next Christmas. (take advantage of the after xmas sale) As it stands now, I have 10 strands of C9 incandescent over the house and garage, and some rope lights around the pillars of my front porch and some yard stuff.

I want to start out slow, maybe purchase a 16 channel kit just to get acquainted with the hobby.... What else do I need exactly?

If I were to switch to LEDs for the house and garage, what size is recommended?

What exactly are these RGB strips? All the colors in one strip?

How many LED strands can you hook together for one channel? And can you hook them together without any issues? I was reading about voltage boosters, so I figured you had to use that if you hooked too many together...

I am also interested in getting an FM transmitter and playing the music on the radio, as to not upset the neighbors... is that what most folks do? Or do they also have speakers playing outside?

I'm sure as I get answers, I will have more questions. This looks to be such a fun hobby...I am quite excited to begin working!

thanks for any information you can give me...

ERIC

PS... I've attached a picture of my house from last year, so you have an idea of what I'm working with.

Attached files 294504=16250-009.JPG

Welcome! See answers to your questions below.

As it stands now, I have 10 strands of C9 incandescent over the house and garage,

From an amperage standpoint, keep in mind that those are going to be about 14.6amps. (1.46a on a 25ct C9 incandescent string.) See more about amp limits below.