Light-O-Rama Forums

First Year Display...

rhandik

So I've admired all the videos I've seen over the years and I've been to see TSO coming up on 7 times so I was so excited to finally be able to have my own display. This is my first year with LOR and any Christmas Decorations period so a big step up and only a few disgruntled neighbors. Anyone have any advice or anything?

A few things I've learned/noticed or questions:
1:Seems like most people have 32channels or like 300 channels so big jump into the 'big leagues'
2:When making sequences copy/paste is your best friend since every song has patterns
3:Using patterns from other songs makes things easy as long as they have the same beat/tempo
4:Everyone will ask you how you did it and sometimes it gets old trying to explain it after the 1000th time
5:It will cost you more than you expect but everything is reusable if you pack it back up nicely
6: Do most people leave the sequence running but w/o sound most of the time?
7:Is there any 'easy' way to make a sequence that is more like an equalizer?

rhandik wrote:

So I've admired all the videos I've seen over the years and I've been to see TSO coming up on 7 times so I was so excited to finally be able to have my own display. This is my first year with LOR and any Christmas Decorations period so a big step up and only a few disgruntled neighbors. Anyone have any advice or anything?

A few things I've learned/noticed or questions:
1:Seems like most people have 32channels or like 300 channels so big jump into the 'big leagues'
2:When making sequences copy/paste is your best friend since every song has patterns
3:Using patterns from other songs makes things easy as long as they have the same beat/tempo
4:Everyone will ask you how you did it and sometimes it gets old trying to explain it after the 1000th time
5:It will cost you more than you expect but everything is reusable if you pack it back up nicely