Light-O-Rama Forums

OK foks, need some help here

Guest guest

I have three 16 channel LOR controllers, 1 8 channel controller, and one usb 485 interface.

Everything is connected properly, software installed as per manufacturers instructions, and in the control panel COM 4 is assigned to the USB port (FTDI).

I downloaded the new hardware utility to make sure that I had the latest, I plugged a controller into the USB485 via cat 5 (lan) cable and the software cannot find the controller. Am I doing something wrong or do you think that there is an issue with the USB485?

Mike

Which cable, the cat5 or the usb? I have checked both. I am assuming that the USB is connected properly since Windows recognized the adapter (USB485). I changed cables (LAN Cat5) with no apparent change.

Mike

PS - LED on contoller just blinks indicating that there is no communication I assume.

Hey, I appreciate everyone. I am running WAY behind this year (this is my first year) and was hoping to finish tonight. Then I ran into this issue.

Oh well, isn't that usually how it goes?

Mike

No, there is no communication between the computer and the contollers. I want to upgrade the firmware, but I have to get the computer to talk to the contoller first. I am thinking that the USB485 is not working properly.

Right now, about five feet. I connected a short cable to update the firmware etc. before getting everything ready for the outside.

In addition, I have eight, 4-channel D-Light boards and the D-light hardware utility cannot find the controllers either.

Since I changed the cat5 cable, I am really thinking that the interface has an issue.

Without all you folks on here, I would be up the creek without the paddle! I appreciate you guys very much. Thank you!

Mike

Mike,