Light-O-Rama Forums

S3 suggestions

plasmadrive

I am not sure if this is the right place to do this but here goes.
I am new to LOR but I am used to running time line based software for laser shows. A lot of the general ideas for S3 are the same however there are a couple of things that would make it really helpful to program.

1. Add a dark or heavier line that line up with the major hash marks on the time line. That way you can hit the target a lot easier down below. Heavier for the 0 hash and perhaps just a bit heavy for the 5 hash. Or something like that.
  2. Heavier horizontal lines about every 5th or 10 line wouldn't hurt either.
  3. The ability to pan the time line when you want to make a test bit longer then the what shows in the window. I have been using the space bar and working the "selected" sections. But it is limited to what shows on the screen at the time.
  4. I noticed the clipboards get lost when you have to shut down the sequence editor. If I am not done programming a specific sequence and I have to shut down, (do to the software becoming very slow) I loose all my clipboards. I know they are supposed to be temp files, but temp as long as I want to keep them. Perhaps a notice when you save that allows you to either dump or keep the clipboards?

More to come.

OK.. another idea or two:

1. Create a way to disable a track. When I am making a track I sometimes want to know if it will look better with A or B. The easiest way would be to duplicate the track make changes in the duplicate track, disable the original track and watch the outcome. I could then switch back and forth between tracks to see which I like better. I would then delete the track I don't want to keep.
  2. For some reason when I copy a group into another track and delete the original, it seems the dup will no longer work. I see events in the track but it won't show on the animation screen. It would be good if that didn't happen.