Light-O-Rama Forums

Electrical Needs

captainron19

OK so at what point have you determined that your normal household electrical system is not enough to handle your display?

Just wondering. I have a 200 Amp service in my house and for my display last year I utilized 4 outlets outside with each one being a dedicated 20 amp circuit.

Since I doubled my arches this year from 4 to 8 those 2 controllers could not longer share an outlet since they pull around 11amps each. A buddy of mine is an electrician and he installed all the outlets for me and is coming Friday to install 2 additional 20 amp outlets on their own dedicated circuits.

Based on my calculations.... if all lights were on, I am pulling 54.88 amps.

As an electrician, I'd say your fine. I have a 200A service and "KNOW" that with EVERYTHING in house ON, I draw under 100A. Heck, if you run outta space in your current panel, Just add a sub-panel. Personally, if I had to do it all over again (which the Wife WILL NOT allow), I'd rewire the house differantly then before.

BTW: I have over 10 outdoor receptacles, But that's just me being MR. OVERKILL!

Tom Straub

Attached files 284009=15759-overkill-poster.jpg

So last year, I ran my 48 channel show (95% LEDs) from one outlet. This year I have added another 72 channels (again, 95% LEDs) for a total of 250 strings of LEDs and 16 strings of incans. Do you think I' ll be safe on 2 or 3 different outlets? I can put on different circuits if need be but would have to run cords thru the house.

I do mostly have leds except my arches.regular incandescents and my mega tree which usea phillips energy efficient incandescent