Light-O-Rama Forums

Argh - newbie to this all - trying to figure it out

MadDucks

Every Year I've been buying controllers, DIY controllers, and I finally got them all soldered up.

Which would be a good thing.. But I have 4 controller boxes, and I've only got 3 worth of lights..

Ideas on what to use 16 more channels on?

I'm going to try to post video of the view from the inside and the outside. And yes I am new to this, so trying to figure out the sequencing (I wouldn't be surprised if a kid watching this didn't go into convulsions)...

During a windstorm:

From the inside:

I would put up a mega tree or 2 arches. Typically mega trees take at least 16 channels and arches take 7. Either one would add a killer element to your setup.

do some arches.

If your worried about being to blinky blinky than rework the sequences with some fades and maybe some lights to stay on.

With all due respect to Harrisons post, I would make the arguement that arches should be 8 not 7...which would allow you to dedicate that entire controller to two arches...

I know I know it is a can of worms I am opening....but I have always been in the camp that says give me the extra channel with an even total number of channels (whcih in my opinion is easier to sequence considering most music is in 2/4 or 4/4 time) as opposed to trying to have a center/top channel with equal #'s on the sides...

Tomato...TomAto...

:-P

Welcome to the LOR forum MadDucks.

Do a search as there is lots of info on arches and mega trees. A mega tree may be faster IMHO if your short for time. A 12' with 16 channels can be put up rather fast as an example. Sequencing for either project will take longer than building that project to sequence for.

Again, welcome aboard and good luck,

Tom