Light-O-Rama Forums

Connecting between controllers

imawlkr2

This is my first year with more than one controller. Can you use phone cord to connect between controllers? What is the benifits of using CAT5 instead?

You can use phone cord. Each phone cord must connect to 1 RJ-11, and one RJ-45.

When you are using phone cord, you have to plug one of the ends into the RJ-45, so you have to get it correctly centered when you install it. The cat5 cables always self center, since they are RJ-45 into RJ-45. Cat5 is a physically more robust cable, and will resist electrical noise better. There are some pretty solid shows running on just phone cord, and it has been tested to thousands of feet.

One of the reasons I use cat5, that may not apply to everyone, is I have better tools for RJ-45 connections than RJ-11...

I prefer Cat5 becuase of the snagless end option on ready-made cables. Like -klb-, I have tools for making both types but its just as easy to purchase short, ready-made cables for linking the controllers together. The cable from my show computer to the first controller ias about 80 feet so I made that cable myself.

Goodluck on whichever you choose!

Well, I have 50' phone cords laying around the house bu no Cat5 long enough to go from Controller 1 to 2 to 3. I think I will try and use the phone cord. If the centering is an issue in the RJ-45 port, then I will get some Cat5 cables...they aren't that expensive. Thanks for the info guys.

• Like 1

imawlkr2 wrote:

This is my first year with more than one controller. Can you use phone cord to connect between controllers? What is the benifits of using CAT5 instead?

For me personally I like using standard 4 wire RJ-11 type for connecting to to the controllers for several reasons:

easier to lay around (more flexible, smaller cable)
easier to stick a jack on the RJ-45
Lastly because I'm cheap! You can pick up 1000' of 4 wire for about $25 and I haven't seen the same length in Cat5 for less than $80.