Light-O-Rama Forums

Brand spanking new to this madness!

alzittrer

Hello all! I am a true newbie! Just ordered my LOR-controller, they only had an 8 channel available. I figured I would start with this. My question, is that enough for my first year to do anything with? How hard is the programming? I plan on buying many more channels.. Any suggestions for a fist timer? And Halloween is my baby! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

alzittrer wrote:

Just ordered my LOR-controller, they only had an 8 channel available. I figured I would start with this. My question, is that enough for my first year to do anything with?

**It's enough to get you addicted...you'll be buying more...LOTS more!!!**

How hard is the programming?

**It differs with each individual...but either way I would download the DEMO TODAY and start playing with it..like any software there is a learning curve.**

I plan on buying many more channels.. Any suggestions for a fist timer?

**You will need LOTS of extension cords...so if you plan on getting bigger each year, I would suggest buying SPT-2 wire (lamp cord) and Vampire Plugs.**

And Halloween is my baby! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

**Welcome to the most addicting hobby anywhere..and we are here if you ever do have any questions...there are a great bunch of guys and gals on here...**

Welcome aboard! This is the most popular controller that all of us use. there are several versions depending on your needs and skill level of soldering.
http://store.lightorama.com/ctb16pcpage.html

Also, please update your profile to include where you're from. This helps us tailor answers to your location, besides one of us may be near you and share help and info.
Soon, Menards will be starting one of many sales on extension cords. FYI

Welcome aboard.

My tip is to plan.. draw it all out, make lists of elements in your display, and create a little project plan with tasks on what you need to do.