Light-O-Rama Forums

Are you in over your head?

David Rise

Ordered 3 more controllers Wednesday morning. I was so excited to get my order in, that I didn't even realize that these are the soldering kits.....OH, OH! This is going to get messy.....LOL

This will be the first time that I've ever had to solder anything.

On the bright side, if things go well, my next purchase will be the kit without the enclosure (another huge savings)

Just think that I started planning for a simple 32 channel 2 color show. Instead, I have purchased all new R,G,B,W LED's, and I'm up to 5 controllers, and 2 CCR's.

If anyone is having doubts or thinks they are in over their head, just look at me. This is my first year. I have absolutely no soldering skills, no building skills. In fact, about the only skill that I have is a good sense for planning things out and I'm very mechanically inclined.

Nothing like jumping in head first. I always say, go big or stay home.

I feel your pain, brother...

In January of 2008 Sharon and I started this journey debating between 16 and 32 channels. That quickly morphed into 48 versus 64, which quickly morphed into 80 versus 96. When Thanksgiving finally rolled around we lit up 144, and I was already planning an upgrade for 2009. Today, we're at 450+ regular channels, 3 CCRs, and a still-undetermined number of CCBs. 2012? That depends on what Dan offers during the spring sale. I already have a waiting list for what I'd do with even more.

Nicely done David! I went 32, 64, and 160...I just got 2 CCR's in the mail yesterday, and I'm trying to error on the side of caution and leave them boxed for 2011..having enough issues getting my sequences changed from 64 to 160. I think we all like the pressure of being in over our head, if you didn't feel that way, the you wouldn't be living the dream!