Light-O-Rama Forums

How Difficult is Soldering the PC Kits

marsh28

Let me start by saying I have NO soldering experience but DO have a father-in-law who is in the computer business and is fairly tech savvy. As it stands right now, the only controller available is the PC kit that requires soldering. I want to do a Halloween show and want to use 2 controllers. Could I figure out how to assemble the PC soldering kits or would I be WAY over my head?

Thanks alot

I would say download the assembly manual, read it over and then decide... This manual is so straight forward!! I had done very minimal soldering and ordered this kit by accident. Needless to say with a little help from a coworker and 4 hours of melting solder I had myself a beautiful 16 channel controller... ahhhh seems like only yesterday! :P
I am in need of 3 more myself and I'm holding out and hopefully waiting for the sale...

Personally, the two most important items with the solder together kits are:
1) Attention to detail. There are some similar parts that you have to make sure you have the right ones in one place. Most of the parts have to be oriented correctly. And you need to be sure you have all the pins soldered. There are so many that it is easy to miss one.

2) Be sure you always heat up both sides of the connection to where the solder will melt on both sides. Never apply the solder to the iron to melt it. Usually, if you do that, one of the parts being soldered is not actually warm enough, and instead of connecting to that part, the solder creates a shell over the part.

I would almost suggest finding a basic solder together electronics kit to assemble, and see how it goes, but I would say that I have never seen one with a manual as good as the LOR assembly manual.