Light-O-Rama Forums

Quick LOR question

Guest guest

OK, this is my first year with LOR. I have a 16 channel Show Time LOR1602W controller. My sequences are pretty much done, or at least as much as a newbie can say done. I've installed the exterior GFCI outlets, I've tested my lights. My next task brings up a seemingly favorite question around here: Where to put the controller? I live in a single family home in a dense suburban residential area. There is a history of occasional vandalism in the neighborhood, though I have not been a victim. My thought was to place the controller in a disused truck tool box that I have on a side patio next to my outlets. If I lock my controller in the truck box, I am no longer concerned with theft. The question is, am I going to be exposing the controller to an area where there will be too much heat build up? I am not running much off of the controller at all, and in tests I have not noticed a lot of heat. Am I setting myself up for trouble?

Heat build up will probably not be your problem. My thought is a pickup tool box is a more attractive target that an UGLY controller box. I spray my mottled black and mount them anywhere. The really just look like a electrical distribution system that would have no value at the local pawn shop. I don't want them for look like anything of value. Just an ol' curmudgeon's point of view.

Hey Bill, thanks for the reply!