Light-O-Rama Forums

Please explain how tracks work

Amazn1

Hi All,

Newbie here. Just took advantage of the recent sale and bought 4 controllers and have started sequencing...talk about time consuming! A little background. I have had a six channel controller that I bought from Costco for about 4 years. I have upgraded all my lights to LED and have about 15K. I wanted to do more with the lights and that's when I found LOR :P. Looking forward to a really awesome display this year.

Can someone fill me in on what "tracks" are and how to use them to speed up sequencing if possible.

Thanks,

Brad

Tracks are used to logically group your channels. All channels are in a track even for those who say they do dont use them.

I use them to hide groups of channels to make them adjacent to other channels for visual comparison. Each track can have its own timings. So if for example you have 16 mini trees but only 7 candy canes you can divide some beats by 16 and other beats by 7 and not be forced to have all timing marks in sight at the same time.

I use traks to group elements together.

For example I have 12 deer thoughout my yard on 4 controllers.

In the main track they are all over the place.

I copy them into a new track and can see all 12 of them on one screen.

What you do in one track does carry over to the main and visa versa.

I'm starting to understand the basic concept. I guess my next question would be how do you start a new track? Then how do you give it it's own timings?

I have all my channels named and saved so when I start to sequence a new song, I just import the named channels.

I have the Standard S2 software which includes 4 tracks I beleive.

Amazn1 wrote:

I'm starting to understand the basic concept. I guess my next question would be how do you start a new track? Then how do you give it it's own timings?

I have all my channels named and saved so when I start to sequence a new song, I just import the named channels.