Light-O-Rama Forums

Wet Conditions

Guest guest

When is it too wet to turn the system on? Does anyone have any past experience they can lay on me??????????

I'm worried it may sprinkle in the afternoon and then you would have to make that big decision at 6pm whether or not to let it rip.

Please let me know your thoughts on this matter. I am a newbie but I'm starting with 208 channels of LOR love!!!!! Yep, 22 days until lights on and I'm freakin' out!!!!!!!!!!

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What to do.... light it or not light it....Here is my plan that I have in place. My system is on a GFI breaker at the panel box. When it rains and the breakers start tripping-then no show. I have a "NO SHOW" blank sequence that allows the FM audio to play telling lookers that the show is cancelled due to weather. My Tune to sign is lite up so they can still tune to the correct radio station to get the message. I had 3 rainout days last year. :) If it rains in the afternoon, you might be lucky to get the connections to dry out before the show. I will test the show about 1 hour before the scheduled play time to make sure all is working. Play it safe, when not sure.

I ran my show all summer long with several rainy days. I have several controllers inside but have one controller that is outside under some shrubs that ran lights to 5 trees and didn't have any problems at all.

Hope this helps.

Tom

This really has less to do with LOR than general electrical safety -- assuming your controllers are properly protected, of course.

I stand strongly in the "Use GFCI's" camp. Sometimes, things get so wet they will trip. But if you weren't using GFCI's, and someone touched your lights, they could get a fatal shock. What's worse -- a no-show night or an electrocuted guest? Your decision...

If the GFCI's aren't popping, you should be fine to run the show.

-Tim