Light-O-Rama Forums

Donation Box?

Aaron Maue

OK. It's my first year, so I have no idea what the traffic will be like.

I'd love to think that those that do show up might be willing to make a small donation to some sort of charity, so I'm wondering if I need to put out a donation box of some sort. On one hand, I don't want anyone to think I'm doing this just as a way to solicit money. On the other hand, I don't want to miss out on the opportunity to promote a cause and raise a few extra bucks for them.

Any thoughts? I'm torn.

Note that I have ZERO interest in recuperating anything and I'm happy to do it even if nobody donates a nickel. I only look forward to the reactions of those that see it and hope that it gives them a fond memory of the holiday.

I've had an animated display running for 5 years now, with no donation box. I don't feel at all bad for not having one. I've asked my parents what their thoughts are, and they said that I shouldn't. There's lots of organizations asking for money, and we don't really "have" to. I just do it as a 'service' to my community expecting nothing in return.

I wouldn't consider it a sin of omission not to have one -- it's simply personal preference. I would say no to your current situation, only because its your first year. If people ask/give you money, I would donate that to charity and possibly put one out in the future. Not that I'm trying to put your display down, but I would guess that you aren't going to get a lot of traffic this first year. Let this be your "test" year. If you could potentially raise a substantial amount, I think it would be a decent idea.

I think I'll agree with Icubsrule... this past year was my first, and although a lot of people knew about and saw my display I didn't get half the traffic that others in the area doing their 2nd or 3rd year display were... The very end of the season really picked up though.