Light-O-Rama Forums

LED Cube

DanCampbell

Jeff Millard wrote:

garyfunk wrote:
I'm going to do the same...

I'll build two of the cubes and associated hardware if you'll work on the S/W end of this monster. Talk to ya via email later...

J

Okay, but I've never worked with DMX before. But hey, I write in several languages. One more will be good.

Jeff Millard wrote:

It looks to me like there's a primer on how they did it... I tried to read it but I kept falling asleep. I have no doubt I can build it. In fact, with Andy and Chuck around...

I heard my name....;) Get back out to your cave and build, sleep later

So let's get some boards made. I'll take five of them. I'd like to have one at work and at least four of them in a display. And I'd like to build most of them myself as I get time.

I downloaded the pdf and Ill try to get to it this weekend. I learn the code and figure out what we need.

I'd much rather talk to a CPU than a person.

Pretty cool. Would have to have the right place to display it though in order to get the proper viewing angle to actually see the cool 3D effects. I doubt that looking at it straight on would provide the same "satisfaction." Hence why the video was shot at that angle. Maybe if high enough, a tree topper might provide such an angle.
Nifty either way...

Ah, come on guys. Think big!

How about one made out of C9 retro LED bulbs and with outside dimentions of about 48" x 48" x 48" This would be about 6" between C9 bulbs. Would need about 24 SSRs.

I think this is a great project. It surely has the wow factor. But for what we do, this needs to be taken to the next step and enlarged. Although I could see someone making this a tree topper. Setting it on a corner. Getting rid of the wooden block and just very carefully hid the wires feeding the arrays.