Light-O-Rama Forums

Show from a distance?

mbettez

Hello all! This is my first year with LOR or any kind of decoration for that matter.

I have a unique situation in that my house is on a fairly busy highway (45mph limit) and there is nowhere for cars to pull off to watch due to guardrails. I still have everything setup on the front of the house with music and lights because my family really loves the idea.

Now to the question. My house is on top of a hill that can be seen from almost a mile heading down the road. I realize most sequences make little sense without music. What would be some good sequences to run on the house for those traveling down the road to enjoy? A different side of the house is visible from down the road than in front of the house so I can have two different displays if I really wanted.

I don't think an FM transmitter would work for two reasons. One being the distance and two there really is no way for me to notify people ahead of time what channel to listen to.

Thanks for any ideas!

I think it's more of a style of sequencing than a particular type of song that can be appreciated without music. A bunch of blinky flashy without the music to go along with it probably looks strange. But if you use slower color fades they would look great even without the music.

Some will tell you that FM transmitters will reach that distance. If they can, they are operating illegally. You can do you own risk assessment on doing that.

You have a similar issue to what I have, and it's been an ongoing challenge to decide what to do. In my case, 2 lane road, with curves, 50 mph. And essentially, no shoulders. While some would say "why do a light display without music?" the other point to consider is "if no one can stop to hear the music for a length of time, what good is it?.." There are a few of us, definite minority, who are "music-less" for whatever reason...you solution, though, is one great way to resolve that.