Light-O-Rama Forums

New to LOR? I have a FAQ which may help.

Guest guest

For those who may have missed it in my signature, I have a LOR FAQ that I've been working on for a few months now. It's by no means complete! However, I took questions from the old forum that were asked over and over, and put them in one place.

If you see a question that you think should be on there, simply reply to this thread. If you know the answer, please go ahead and put that here to. It will save me a lot of typing, etc. It will also give everyone a chance to comment on the answer before I add it.

That address is: http://www.wonderlandchristmas.com/lorfaq/lorfaq.php

01/29/2006 - I've started a Wiki for LOR. You can see it, and contribute at - http://www.donteague.com/lorwiki

I was going to bring this up in the discussion of the FAQ page, but didn't so I will ask here. There seems to be a lot of the same questions asked on a consistent basis, and most people wouldn't use a FAQ page to find an answer and really don't search the board either I was thinking maybe we could create a FAQ/help file and have it sticky at the top of the forum. I am thinking something like a windows help file where the most common questions are answered. I know everyone keeps asking Dan about increasing the help file with LOR but this may be a good basis of where the documentation needs to be focused, or good enough so they don't have to work their help file and can work on LOR 3 ;) I know there are some free help creators and wink is a great tool too for the visual side: http://www.debugmode.com/wink/ I find the visual additions in documentation a great help. 'Tell me I listen, show me I learn'..

Just a thought, and not to take anything away from Don's which was a great help for me!

There was a time on this board when I was opposed to sticky topics. Now it seems that if the topic hasn't been replied to in a day or so, the sticky drops from the "Recent" view. (Which is the view I use all the time.)