Light-O-Rama Forums

lights flicker

slayerbobt

hi, i have been doing this for 3 years, but this year have flickering problem even when i dont have a program running.for halloween i used one controller ,plugged in the lights,turned on the unit. and the light had a slight flicker .did not have a program on, or utility hardware.sometimes when i unplug the lights and turn it 180 degrees it will do something different like flicker only half the string.its like it has something to do with the polarity of the lights. i dont know.i have contacted dan at lightorama and sent him a video of my problem, here it is .. anybody got an idea.got two weeks before i light this baby up!!!!!!!thanks

cant get the video to load .if somebody wants to help i can send it via e-mail. thanks....

A few years ago people reported wierd behavior from their controllers when using CFL bulbs in their displays. Others have reported wierd behavior by just using CFL in their homes during the time when their display is up.

All that to say. There may be noise being induced in your AC line that is causing the problem. However, first of all I would do a reset on your controller. The reset procedure would depend on the type controller you have.

IF a "D" board you set both dials to "0" when the unit is unplugged, disconnect the network cables, plug in the controller, the LED will blink fast. After about 10 seconds you can unplug the controller, reset to the address you need, plug in the network cabling and repower the unit.

If the PC version or a non-"D" board. You wil remove the jumper and plug in. After the 10 seconds or so, unplug put the jumper back on in the same location, connect the LOR network cabling and power the unit on. I am not sure, but I think you will also have to reset the address with the HU. I don't use this style so can't tell you for sure about the need to readdress.

Chuck