Light-O-Rama Forums

Arches Using C6 LEDs

RaceMedic

I hate to bring up the arch issue again but as a newbie I am getting frustrated getting it to work.

I am using 100ct C6 bulbs 4" apart.

I used 3/4" pipe which had a 1" outer diameter ... ALL the lights lined up. I tried going smaller but they were STILL lining up.

Suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

I even took a strand of lights to my local Home Depot and tried wrapping some different pipes ... was getting some weird looks.

Thanks,

Dave

Usually if I notice the lights starting to line up, I will overlap them for a couple of rotations, and then continue on. It works if you do it right,and you cannot tell the difference unless you really look at it.

Jesse

I too am in the midst of wrapping my first arches too. I found that if I wrapped the lights tightly they would all line up also, so I started wrapping just a tad looser, and everything worked fine then. Plus I remember somebody saying that you want to wrap them a little loose so they will have some give for when you bend the arch.

I sent you an email but I forgot to add that a number of folks use the sleeve idea these days for their arches.

Sleeves go over the electrical PVC conduit pipe. They wrap light around these individual sleeves. A 9 channel arch would have 9 sleeves.

I think you use high water pressure tubing or something like that.

Just another idea.

Now it is time for you sleeve experts to come in.

That is what I am going to do ... the sleeves.

I got 1" piping that you use for sprinklers .... still line up.

The 1 1/4" which I tested out on a cardboard tube looked perfect so I am on the hunt for 1" PVC inner diameter which gives a 1 1/4" outer diameter.

Thanks for all the help !

Dave

4" LED, 3/4" pvc - this is what you need to do (I've done over 50 of these) -