Light-O-Rama Forums

Phillips 17 LED Snowflake

blainedead

What determines whether or not an LED is dimmable? Does it have to do with whether or it is rectified, or is it something else.

I picked up 8ea Phillips 17" LED Snowflakes last year in the post-Christmas sales at Target. They do appear to be rectified, as they have a medium sized node near the plug. The node has AC stamped on one end and DC stamped on the other.

I'm testing the fade levels on all the new LEDs that will be in my show this year, and just thought I would ask before I try it. Would hate to destroy one if I can avoid it.

blainedead wrote:

I picked up 8ea Phillips 17" LED Snowflakes last year in the post-Christmas sales at Target. They do appear to be rectified, as they have a medium sized node near the plug. The node has AC stamped on one end and DC stamped on the other.

I have been using them for 2 years on my roof, no problems yet.
Here is a crappy video, I need to get a camera this year,

Awww your guys are teasing me. Like a fool I only bought one not sure if I would like it till I got it home. Well the next day they were all gone. I need 7 more of those.

To answer your question. Full wave or half wave is fine. What usually will cause failure is if it has a filter cap installed. It also messes with the fade speed and make your fades look drawn out.

Great, thanks!

BTW, who is the artist on that version of Carol of the Bells? I was thinking about bringing it back this year, but haven't settled on a version yet.

Hi,
it is . Carol of the bells,
the album, " X christmas " artist," August burns red"
I got it from I-tunes

blainedead wrote:

Well, I bought 8, but I'm only using 6. Figured I would keep a couple of spares, but would part with 2 of them if you really needed them.

Thanks blainedead,