Light-O-Rama Forums

S5 SS updates to S4?

sax

Some of the updates you added to S5 are ones we have been wanting for years.  Like the priority morph. 

I was hoping to upgrade to S5 but it is looking more like PE than LOR.  Maybe one day I will convert.  But for me, I would rather program in SS.  

So, is it possible to get some of those new features into S4 SS?

Sax

Sax, you are not the only one.  I also have sequenced essentially entirely in SuperStar for years.  I had never been able to get PE to do anything useful at all until I started playing with S5 (and barely can now).  My original description of the 5.0.0 beta shortly after it came out was that it was an updated version of PE with a little SE tossed in.  Heck, I have not sequenced in SE in several years except to edit the one required channel in a .lms file (it's a fan that is on all the time).

Having played with the S5 beta quite a bit since it came out, my opinion is that the current SuperStar integration is horrible.  Granted that improved SuperStar integration IS stated to be on the "we'll get there" list.  The fact that most anything but props that at least sort of resemble a matrix are so badly mangled that they are worthless (pixel tree is OK now) - you should see what it does to my pixel star.  Second is that MANY lights don't have the "Insert SuperStar commands" option available (possibility that I don't know how).  With Visualizer going away, we will have no way to make changes to a show configuration unless the Preview designer can actually do a useful export to SuperStar (which it currently does not do at all - SuperStar can't read the "Export to SuperStar" file format (and I note that button no longer exists)).  In my opinion, for the Preview Designer to be useful for SuperStar, it ABSOLUTELY MUST be able to:

1) Create a layout file for the entire show that SuperStar can import - similar to how we use a Visualizer file to build the configuration in S4.