Light-O-Rama Forums

Blown fuse, Melted wires

callycoon

Hey guys had a question regarding an apparent blown fuse in my CTB16PC box. Blew a fuse during X-mas and upon opening the box to repair it noticed some major damage to the 1-8 hot input wire as well as two neutrals. Not sure what caused this because I've been running the same show and light setup for three years. I remember a good amount of rain that week which could have played a role but nonetheless it happened. Is it possible to just replace the wires that were fried or is this box toast. Any help would be appreciated on as to why or repair options if any. Thanks, Chris

Here are a few pics

IMG_1415.jpg

IMG_1412.JPG

Could have been water, but also check for insects that got into something and cooked. If you want to attempt repair, the first time you power it up, use a small fuse, so hopefully if there is still a fault, the fuse will blow before the new wires melt. Obviously very carefully inspect for anything else damaged or possible cause before powering up.